The Official Blog for GamersUnanimous.com

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Gotta Train 'Em All Part 2 - Elite 4

Double post!

The MVP for the Elite 4 was (by a wide margin) Stantler. I was shocked as well.

Electrode took out Will's first Xatu, and Stantler handled the rest of his team. I'm sure other pokemon could have helped out, but his Sp Atk was so high that riding him out and preserving the rest of the team became priority.

I did not use Stantler vs Koga. Fearow beat Ariados pretty convincingly. Dugtrio almost had Forretress, but he used Explosion at the last minute. (This was the only time I used Dugtrio.) Quagsire's newly found usefulness with Earthquake and Waterfall took out Muk and Venomoth. I knew he'd try to just raise his evasiveness with Crobat, so I beat him with Electrode's Shock Wave.

Fearow took the Player of the Match honors by eliminating Bruno's Hitmontop, Hitmonchan and Hitmonlee. Meganium finally showed up by defeating Onix and Machamp.

Karen was a total bitch. He Umbreon was nearly unkillable, but thankfully she withdrew it when I baited her with Meganium. Her Houndoom was an easy target for Quagsire. Fearow killed Vileplume quickly. Gengar messed me up pretty badly, but Electrode finally got the better of him. Electrode also beat Murkrow. And then it came down to Meganium vs Umbreon. It took forever, but Meganium eventually got him.

Lance was an even bigger asshole than Karen. Electrode beat Gyarados. Child's play. I had to use Stantlers' Hypnosis/Calm Mind strategy and tons of hyper potions to best his 3 Dragonites. It also took several resets. Once I was through those 3, Quagsire eliminated Charizard and Aerodactyl.

I almost didn't think I would make it with this team, but once again strategy beat out brute force. Well, strategy and a little luck with Hypnosis.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Followers