I've been hearing a few complaints about the lack of HDMI out, lack of Flash support, and inability to run more than one App at once (unless they are Apple's Apps). These facts are hard to dispute, because they are indeed facts (unless, of course, multiple internet sources are lying to me). Disputing facts is usually only a practice of blind supporters/detractors and the clinically insane.
But to these complaints, my only response is: it's first generation. Has it really not crossed anyone else's minds that Apple has already thought of these things? Apple generally practices a business model that releases a gadget that will inevitably be replaced by a superior and cheaper version. iPhone vs. iPhone 3G anyone? The Apple acolytes will eat up the iPad and buy the iPad 2.0 a year later, Apple can count on that. By the time the 2.0 version comes out, they will have achieved good market penetration thanks to their die-hards, and then have a technologically viable device for all the skeptical techies.
That's called a business. I'm not saying it's right. I'm not saying it's wrong. But for iPad 2.0, expect Flash support, an HDMI dock (hell, that could even happen for the first generation), and the ability to run multiple Apps. And to all the early adopters, don't expect an apology from Apple, but at least you'll have one before anyone else.
you beat me to it!! i totally agree. everyone is either "oh it's so amazing. nothing is better than that out there" or "why would anyone pay that much for something like that?!" here's the thing, like you said it's a FIRST GEN!!! watch, when Gens 2 and 3 come out its gonna come out MUCH MUCH cheaper and better
ReplyDelete